Parkour

In technology, for my second genius hour project, I decided to do Parkour. I decided to do Parkour for my genius hour because I have always had an interest in anything that deals with gymnastics or some type of acrobatic movement. I have had a wide experience in gymnastics and cheer since I was young because flipping around has always been natural for me. Therefore, when I discovered Parkour from watching T.V shows like American Ninja Warrior, I was instantly hooked. However, I never really knew a really history or technique to the sport because it does not get as much attention as activities like soccer or basketball. So, for this project I thought it would be the perfect opportunity to explore that world.

Through this genius hour project I have actually learned a lot. I discovered Parkour actually originate from a French military group to grow in efficency because the basic definition of Parkour is moving from point A to point B in the most efficient way. However, as the needs of efficiency became less important through the year, more creative movement began to blossom. Thus, the art of Freerunning was creatived. To continue, I learned from my Twitter resources that Parkour can be used as a way to make money and to devolep a career. Furthermore, the Parkour community is very encouraging with letting anyone, no matter the age or gender or ability, to try.

To be honest, this project didn’t really help me grown as a person, but so increase my interest in Parkour. In my opinion, it didn’t connect with me on such a personally level to make me change in any succificent way. However, what I learned in this project did my fellow students in learning more about the sport. Most people only know the basics or Parkour from either people just yelling the word or from movie stunts. Though I think my presentation to my class helped to expand their knowledge to more than just the surface layer.

Finally, for my last genius hour to help my community I want to bring people together, especially now in a time where people seemed to be torn apart. I want to use what learn from Parkour to possible create an activity for others. Maybe like an obstacle course or fun run. Then, the profits from that event can go to an important organization.

I believe that people don’t know the full possibilities that Parkour can provide, but with the help of others the word can be spread that this sport can help the lives of many.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *